Wednesday’s decision

I feel like this is a lose lose situation. The decision was no surgery… I spent the night lying next to my son in his hospital bed as I cried and told him how much I loved him. What a terrible feeling, to feel so helpless against this cancer and the medicine that was helping is likely the cause of this intestinal hole.

Thursday September 13, 2012
Things are quiet. Nobody got much sleep. We began antibiotics last night and some suction. This is something parents should never have to go through.
My son, my little buddy is a tough little guy. He shows me, he shows everyone what living is about. He is still in pain although he is now on a continuous pump of pain medicine, so we give him additional doses when needed. He still smiles and tells me I’m “the best father in the world”, which always brings tears to my eyes. This crying stuff is not something I’m used to, I had not cried for years. It’s the point that this is my little boy, who is always such an inspiration, such a magnetic personality and always by my side holding my hand wherever we went. It is heartbreaking…

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment