Tuesdays meeting

Tuesday September 11, 2012

Today we have 2 meetings planned. The first is With the Dr’s and the second is with a team to help transition home.
The first meeting comes up and we sit in this meeting planning on eating lunch and talking. The discussion began as he pulled up images of my sons MRI and began telling us the spinal fluid they drew had live cancer cells in it and they are unsure of what they are so they are consulting more doctors to evaluate what they are looking at as well as comparing it to his previous biopsy results. Once he got the images he wanted to view up he began telling us there is a shadow in his spinal column along with what looks like the spinal column is enlarged. WTF, is my reaction… He continues to say that knowing this it is a good idea to hold off on his next round of chemo (he is due for Bevacizumab today and his Temozolomide in 2 weeks) as they are not holding off the cancer as well as they once were. It has found a way around the treatments. Needless to say this is not what I expected to be hearing. And the words that come next were important, it is rare for a child his age to have this type of cancer (we already knew this), to see it spread into the spine is rare as he continued to tell us again that they don’t have enough research and medicine to battle this type of cancer as they told us back in March. The Dr said he wanted to see what the final results were from the lab as they are still looking at them.

This news, as it was expected someday I would hear these words, I didn’t expect to hear them today. Tears flow down my checks as I think of my little Buddy and all the great times we have had and the fight he has put up without EVER complaining, not one day, not about one procedure or surgery. What a tough little warrior my boy is, what a terrible thing to happen to a boy who has a heart of gold and would rather take the blame for his friends than rat them out. He is an amazing little guy. My Buddy, my son… I love you so much…

Today is like being told his diagnosis all over again.

I extend thoughts and prayers to all who lost their lives or assisted with the 9/11 tragedy as we will never forget.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment